Skip to main content

Fine Arts

2019 Band All-State Musicians


Jayden Chavez on Percussion

MJ Robinson on Tenor Saxophone

Deandra Ward on Flute


Dillon Hauke on Flute,

Kevin Johnson on Trumpet


Jacob Marquis on Baritone Saxophone

Ron Thurman on Bassoon

Zach Nowlin on Trumpet


Marcos Cordova on Clarinet

Fine Arts Image

Fine Arts Faculty

Jill Novick, Drama

Ryan Hatch, Choir/Piano and Department Chair

Sara Linn, Art I & Art II

Sarah McHaffie, Visual Arts/Computer Graphics

Jennifer Mason, Ceramics

Nathan Matherne, Band/Steel Band and Orchestras

Eduardo Trujillo, Guitar/AP Music Theory

Tom Wiberg, Drawing&Painting and Art I

2020 NMMEA All-State

Guitar Musicians

Austin Artbuckle

Cheyanana Arellano

Melina Moreno

Nayeli Ochoa

Lorenzo Notah

Cibola's Island Breeze Steel Pan Band under the direction of Nathan Matherne, M.M., performed as part of the Steel Band Collective as the 2019 NMMEA All-State General Music Honor Ensemble. Congratulations!

Cibola Artists on Exhibit at UNM!!

The University of New Mexico's Art Education Program and Masley Art Gallery Show prodly present the second annual UNM Youngf Artists Exhibition, November 6th - December 11th, 2019. The reception and awards ceremony will be held December 11th from 6:00 - 8:00 PM in the Masley Art Gallery. The Cibola artists with work on display are: Lorel Medina "Two Sides of my Brain" Grade 11, and Anabelle Nevarez "The BEar" Grade 12.

UNM Young Artists

2019 NMMEA 7

Guitar Honor Group

Cody Libaridian

Daymon Kerns

Mirey Lopez

Nayeli Ochoa

Jordyn Redd

Aaliyah Romero

Lorenzo Notah

Santiago Velasquez

Tristan Bates

Samuel Ortega

Melina Moreno

Andres Vigil-Gurule


2019 All-State
All-State Soloists

2020 Choral All-State Musicians 

Mixed Choir

Jack Vanlyssel

Rebecca Thomas

Kaytlyn Silva

Quiara Cortez - 2nd Year


Treble Choir

Emma Stanley

Alexia Smith


Congratulations to the 2019 Southwest Honor Band Participants from Cibola!

Wind Symphony

Jayden Chavez

Maurice Robinson

Dillon Hauke

Ron Thurman


Symphonic Band

Matthew Babcock


Concert Band

Kelsi Kehoe-Looney

Kiley Reil

Jacob Marquis

Marcos Cordova

"O Fortuna" 2019 All-State Mixed Choir